Hello. Sign in to get personalized recommendations. New visitor? Start here.

Special Loans Services: Scam Alert

by Emily Peters on 02/11/2009

Another new loan scam name has appeared on the horizon today. Here's the report we received late last night:

My parents were a victim of this business.  They go by Special Loans Services  www.specialloansservices.com.  Everything looked so legitimate that my parents sent in the $1,000 they asked for and now are out the money.  Is there anything they can do, or place they can report these criminals to? They promised a $10,000 loan with a $1,000 collateral payment.

The scam website is currently up and running at SpecialLoanServices.com. Take a peek, but remember that these are bad guys. Here are more details:

Fake lender name: SpecialLoanServices
Fake lender website: www.specialloanservices.com. If you do a whois.net search for this URL, you'll see it was registered to a Candian address on January 19th. Big red flag.
Fake lender address: 30 N Michigan Ave Ste 980 – Chicago, IL 60602
Fake loan amount: $10,000
Requested payment: $1,000 collateral payment for a $10,000 "loan"

There's no way to get the lost money back after you've wire transferred it to a loan scammer. But you can – and should – report the crime to your local police department, the FTC, the FBI, the Canadian RECOL agency and your state attorney general.

If you think you might be working with a scam lender, email us the details BEFORE you send any money. We'll be glad to help you identify if the loan offer is legitimate.

Emily PetersCredit.com's personal finance expert and former TransUnion credit bureau insider. Emily writes about credit reports, credit cards, loans and personal finance as the CreditBloggers.com editor.

Comments

{ 2 comments… add a comment }

Anonymous February 11, 2009 at 10:19 AM

I often see posting of this nature on Craigslist. Just FYI.
Brian

Reply

Mary Feltmann February 18, 2009 at 9:35 AM

Does anyone know about a company called Loan Union Financial? They said the web address is http://www.loanunion.net. They claimed to be associated with intel insurance company and need money for the insurance company to secure a personal loan.

Reply

Leave a Comment

About Us

Credit.com News & Advice provides readers with unique insight, helpful tips and straight answers about their financial world. Our leading experts explore credit, loans, debt, saving, and identity theft topics. Meet our credit & finance gurus.