[Logo] Credit.com Forum Community Message Boards
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Groups] Back to Credit.com 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Possible New Scam  XML
Forum Index » Loan Scams
Author Message
bryansyp


Joined: 05/20/2009
Messages: 1
Offline

I was researching a home loan when I was contacted by a company called SilverStar Lending out of Maywood, NJ. They claimed I was approved for $120,000 but had to send them a collateral payment of $6200.00 They emailed me a copy of a "contract" that I was to sign and fax or email back to them. The form was shoddy at best and created using Microsoft Word. the format was all wrong and there were some other errors. I went to their web site WWW.SILVERSTARLENDING.COM and it looked like it was also created quickly.

I dug a little deeper and found the host and was able to create a similar site in about 10 minutes. I then did a domain search and it came back as being registered to an individual in Canada and the domain was registered just 3 days before I got my "approval" Luckily I did not go through with the request and called the person back and informed him I was not using his service. The toll free number I called sounded like it was a forwarding service to a different phone number.

Just wanted folks to beware of another possible scam. Here is what the cover letter looked like:

Congratulations
Dear: BRYAN Sxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
You can rest assure knowing you have made the right decision by choosing SILVERSTAR LENDING to act on your behalf in finding an appropriate solution to your financial needs.

SILVERSTAR LENDING has been committed to helping our clients achieve their financial goals since 1993. Our owner and Co founder, Ronald Taylor, vision is to win loyal clients through excellent customer service and as a result 100% customer satisfaction.

We respect your privacy and guarantee the information you have provided to us will remain confidential. We see this as our responsibility and the minimum standard for meeting and exceeding our client’s expectations.

At SILVERSTAR LENDING we realize carefully planned budgets may not always stretch as far as you may need them to. Borrowing is always an option that can be taken, yet for some; it may make life more complicated than easy. Here at SILVERSTAR LENDING we welcome all of your questions. We will work with you exploring all financial options available to you. Our company is committed to treating our clients with courtesy, professionalism and respect. SILVERSTAR LENDING would like to take this time to congratulate you and inform you that we are in receipt of all the necessary documents necessary to process your loan application.

Here at SILVERSTAR LENDING we abide by all laws governing documents handling for identification purposes. All documents supplied to us are used solely for the purpose of obtaining your loan. This information is confidential and cannot be released without the verbal and /or written consent of the client. We trust that all information provided on your application is accurate. Failure to provide correct information on your application could result in this contract determined null and void.

Thank you for accepting the terms and conditions negotiated on your behalf by SILVERSTAR LENDING who will be securing the loan on your behalf.

The Insurance Coverage protects the lender in the event you refuse to pay back the negotiated terms due to the fact that you the client have become unemployed, or, have relocated without notification.

Welcome to SILVERSTAR LENDING. We have adjusted your terms to suit your personal and financial needs. We hope that we can work with serving you better than ever before, and we thank you for your partnership.


Domain information:

Registration Service Provided By: EZOT, Inc.
Contact:

Domain name: silverstarlending.com

Registrant Contact:
SilverStar
Pamela Williams ()

Fax:
1175 Ellesmere Rd
Toronto, Ontario M1T2Z7
CA

Administrative Contact:
SilverStar
Pamela Williams ()
+1.*********7
Fax:
1175 Ellesmere Rd
Toronto, Ontario M1T2Z7
CA

Technical Contact:
EZOT, Inc.
DNS Administrator ()
+1.*********1
Fax: +1.*********1
PMB 239
9597 Jones Road
Houston, TX 77065
US

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
dns.bizsiteservice.com
dns2.bizsiteservice.com

Creation date: 28 Apr 2009 15:05:18
Expiration date: 28 Apr 2010 15:05:18

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/20/2009

dtempleton

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/15/2008
Messages: 323
Location: Atlanta
Offline

Nice catch. It definitely pays to do your homework and research a lender before falling victim to one of these guys.

Thanks for the tip, Bryan!

Deanna | Credit.com Team Member
[WWW]
charlotte


Joined: 06/17/2009
Messages: 1
Offline

For anyone that is contacted by this company . They are definitely a scam. . The company rep that first contacted us was Brian. He called and told us that we had been approved for a 50,00.00 loan, we would need to send them 3500.00 for a security deposit and the funds would be wired to our account within 6 hours. We told him we could raise that much money in so short a time. He then came back on the line and advised me that he could accept n1000.00 to stqrt and the rest was to be paid immediately upon recieving the funds in our account.

We sent the company 1000.00 via wetern union on a friday,he reeived the fund by 2:00 pm but advised us that the company would wire the money right away. Of course that never happened, we waited all weekend and monday morning we again called "Brian" to inquire about the loan, he advised us that there was now a conflict since some other lender was trying to do a credit report and it was causing a cconflict, we would need to pay an addional amount of 2700. for "insurance". We then inturn told "Brian" that was not going to happen, just refund our 1000.00 hwe told us it would take 10 days for us to get the refund. Of cxourse the phone # he was using is turned off and since we had to send the money to Ajax, Ontario, Canada we are for sure never going to see that money again.

PLEASE BE WARE OF THIS COMPANY, They have probably chaned the company name but if they ask you to wire money anywhere outside the country PLEAS DO NOT DO IT SAVE YOURSELF A WHOLE LOT GRIEF.
trappersgirl


Joined: 07/21/2009
Messages: 1
Offline

Same thing happened to me. I was contacted by Keith Knight of Goldmark Financial Group with an approval for $10,000.00, but I needed to send $700 to an insurance company in Canada. Luckily, I did a lot of research and found the same thing Brian did. Same address of 1175 Ellesmere Rd in Toronto. This time registered to a Richard Garner. This website goldmarkfinancialgroup.com was created on June 17, 2009--about a week before my "approval" came through. Just wanted to give a heads up! Thanks for all the sharing!
jcenteno


Joined: 07/23/2009
Messages: 1
Offline

What can you do if a scammer has called you that you have been approved on your loan? How can you prevent this person from having your full identity? SSN and DOB?
I was looking for a student loan and I filled out a form online the other night, A man contacted me today from a company called Burlington Lending Group his name is Donald Foreman
I ran a google search and could not locate the information on :

Burlington Lender Group aka Burlington Financial Group on one of the SCAM Blogs
102-38 Eastwood Drive
South Burlinggton, VT 05403
1-888-314-1950

dtempleton

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/15/2008
Messages: 323
Location: Atlanta
Offline

If someone has gotten access to your SS and DOB or other imporant identifying information and you're worried about identity theft, you should look into placing a fraud alert on your credit reports. This will at least stop someone from opening new accounts in your name without you knowing about it. You can read more about identity theft and protection options in Credit.com's Learning Center here: Identity Theft Emergency

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 07/24/2009


Deanna | Credit.com Team Member
[WWW]
 
Forum Index » Loan Scams
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team