[Logo] Credit.com Forum Community Message Boards
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Groups] Back to Credit.com 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Financial Help website haunted by Scammers?  XML
Forum Index » Loan Scams
Author Message
teresa21362


Joined: 07/05/2009
Messages: 2
Offline

All,

Just want to give a heads up to this website... I put an add out for financial assistance
and managed to almost get scammed twice.. Looks like scammers are prowling amongst
the postings on this site.

The site is called : http://www.ineedfinancialhelp.net/

There may be legitimate transactions taking place but I was scammed out of some financial
and personal information (no money was sent..but I was unfortunately fooled..). and after
that transaction, I was hit again by another person, although I was on high alert, unfortunately.
If anyone is considering using this site, please be careful.

also, I can see postings to a companion (if one can call it) site.. it can be found at this link:
http://www.needfinancialhelp.org/

Hope this helps...
dtempleton

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/15/2008
Messages: 323
Location: Atlanta
Offline

Thanks for the tip, Tresa. I did a whois on both domains and come to find out, one was registered by proxy and private; the other was registered on May 27, 2009 - a little more than a month ago (big red flag) by Emrix Enterprises with a registrant email address of emmerl@live.com. That's a personal email address from hotmail, another big red flag.

Everyone: Be very very careful when dealing with these kinds of sites. Desperate times call for desperate measures and these scammers are relying on that fact. I know it's tempting, but unless you can verify that the company is NOT a fraud, don't do it.

Deanna | Credit.com Team Member
[WWW]
le19555


Joined: 11/05/2009
Messages: 1
Offline

Suggestion: Before you make wholesale opinions of websites based on the fact that another website spams it's users, I suggest you do more research. I own http://www.NeedFinancialHelp.org and it is not a spam site. Because it was registered a month before it was public does not mean it's a spam site so there is NO red flag. Every site including major sites were registered and NEW at one time. Why would a personal email address be a red flag? Give me a break! Did either of you bother to email me and ask me?
dtempleton

[Avatar]

Joined: 10/15/2008
Messages: 323
Location: Atlanta
Offline

Hi Le -I think you're confusing "spam" with "scam". If you review this thread you'll see that many consumers have been scammed (not spammed) with advanced fee loan fraud which has been rampant over the last year or more due to the recession and desperate times.

Your site states that it markets to charitable organizations and private investors but gives no detailed information on who these organizations or private investors are. The person that posted to your site shared their story willingly in our forums to warn others because "scammers' (as in advanced fee loan fraud scams) were using your site and the posts to find potential victims. In fact, this person shared that she was almost scammed by TWO offers based on her post to your site.

Even though you (and your organization or website) may have the best intentions, not everyone out there has a heart of gold. Read through the threads and you'll hear the heart wrenching stories of families that have sent their last dime by wire to fraudulent investors promising them that they'll have funds wired to their accounts within 24 hours. And whether you agree or not, it's a fact that a recently registered site (usually within the last month) and a free email address instead of a legitimate business address are both red flag warnings that even the FTC warns against so that consumers do their due diligence before doing business with a lender or organization.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/06/2009


Deanna | Credit.com Team Member
[WWW]
 
Forum Index » Loan Scams
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team